Aurat Publication & Information Service Foundation
Critical issues of concern for women and need for legislation discussed with members of political parties, Bhurban, Muree

Bhurban, Muree

Critical issues of concern for women and need for legislation discussed with members of political parties

AAWAZ voice and accountability programme held a ‘National Consultation on Critical Issues of Concern for Women and Need for Legislation, on April 3, 2015, at Bhurban, Murree. Political parties as gatekeepers are the key actors that can support women’s political participation within parties as well in the electoral processes which is one of the main focuses of AAWAZ Programme. Hence, AAWAZ Programme continuously engages national and provincial assembly members at various times.  

In continuation of such initiatives such as knowledge sharing with parliamentarians on legislative initiative and develop networking and alliance among national and provincial women caucuses, AF with collaboration of AAWAZ consortium partners keenly observes the pending legislation challenges and emphasis need for new legislation for women’s concern and this consultation was among one of the steps AAWAZ is taking.

 The national consultation was held under following agenda:

  • Status of current and pending legislation (National and Provincial)
  • Identification of issues for proposed amendments and new legislation
  • Challenges and opportunities for legislations process
  • Open discussion 

Participants from leading political parties like PML N, PPPP, PTI, MQM,JI, JUI-F, PML F, representatives of provincial women caucus, DAI, SPO and AF attended this consultation. Ms Shaista Pervaiz, PML N, & Secretary Women Parliamentary Caucus, chaired the consultation.

Participants from leading political parties included Mr Shehryar Afridi, MNA, PTI, Mr Tariq Ahmed Khan, Secretary Information QWP, Ms Nabila Hakima Khanm MPA, PTI, Mr Shaukat Basra, Secretary Information PPPP, Mr M Ali Rashid, MNA, MQM, Ms Nusrat Abbasi, MPA, PML F, Ms Munaza Hassan, MNA, PTI, Ms Aisha Syed, MNA, JI, Ms Tehseen Fawad, MPA, PML N, Dr Farid Piracha, Deputy Secretary General, JI, Ms Sadia Sohai, MPA, PTI, Ms Nafeesa Khattak, MNA, PTI, Ms Mussarat Ahmadzeb, MNA, Independent, Ms Naeema Kishwar, MNA, JUI, Ms Shaista Pervaiz, MNA, PML N, and Secretary Women Parliamentary Caucus, Ms Sorat Thabo, MPA, PML N, Ms Fariah Emad, MNA, PML N, Ms Shazia Ashfaq Mattu, MNA, PML N, and Ms Shaheen Shafiq, MNA, PML N.